Spaghetti with meatballs: My mom’s recipe

To be honest, there is only one recipe of meatballs that I use, and that’s my mom’s. Maybe that’s because it’s super simple. Or because I’m lazy to look for another recipe. Or both.

 

Spaghetti & Meatballs - My mom's recipeHere is the list of ingredients that you’ll need:

  • Ground meat. I usually buy pork and beef and mix them. I like the taste better.
  • A cup of milk
  • Around half a cup of breadcrumbs. I just adjust it when mixing.
  • One egg
  • A pinch of salt, black pepper, ground garlic (the spices that you like best)
  • Flour. You’ll use it before frying the meatballs
Ground meat mixed with the rest of the ingredients

Ground meat mixed with the rest of the ingredients

Combine all the ingredients together. I use my clean hands because I find it easier, but you can use a fork, spoon… Next, make the balls the size you prefer. I don’t like to make them too big because it takes longer to cook and you don’t really know if they are going to be done in the inside. Before frying them on a pan cover them with some flour.

Meatballs covered in flour

Meatballs covered in flour

A couple of minutes on each side (check that they get darker) should be enough. Keep them on a container with a lid so they stay warm.

Meatballs frying in the pan

Meatballs frying in the pan

For the spaghetti (sorry I don’t have pictures of this part), put some water to boil on a pot and place the spaghetti inside. Stir every once in a while so they don’t stick to each other and they cook well. They should be done in 10-15 minutes. To know if they are cooked you can try and cut one of them with a wooden spoon. If it is hard to break means that it is not done. I like them to be in a soft al dente, which means that they are still a little hard but cooked.

Once the spaghetti are done take off the water from the pot and pour the tomato sauce of your choice while stirring. You can place the meatballs in the pot too or just leave them in the container so anyone can serve themselves.

Spaghetti with meatballs on a side

It is not a complicated recipe that makes a delicious meal. Let me know in the comments if you try it and how you liked it. Enjoy!

When I receive a comment I do a somersault! :)

