How to Deal with Lack of Motivation

Missing motivation. Reward if found

I feel I need to be honest here… Last week I had a major lack of motivation to do anything. Really, anything. I don’t consider myself extremely active, but I like to do stuff. And if I want to do something, I will do whatever needs to be done to get it. For the last 10 days (a little less, maybe?) the only thing that I wanted to do was to lie down and watch some TV show or something on my laptop (can I just say how disappointed I am on Netflix taking off My Fair Wedding? Ugh…). I can’t say I didn’t do it. I did some other things too, but I just wasn’t feeling it.

First, I was really “happy” to be a woman, if you know what I mean. Then, last Monday I went to a medical exam and they gave me a shot for tetanus and something else that I don’t remember. The doctor said it might hurt for a couple of days, but I didn’t believe him. Holy cow! On Wednesday I had to take something for the pain because that was hurting so much I could barely move my arm!

I guess not being well physically made me not be motivated to do anything, so I just rested and tried not to beat me up for not doing the things that I had on my list for the week.

Yesterday, though, I decided that it was time to move and I did a to-do list on my head.

To-Do ListAlso, on Tuesday my parents are coming from Spain to stay with us for two weeks, and there’s some stuff that needs to be done (hello, house cleaning!).

One thing that you need to know when you don’t feel like doing anything is that maybe your body needs a break. And that’s totally fine. Your mind might appreciate the break too, so don’t beat yourself up. Now, don’t take that as if you could stay in the sofa forever and spend the rest of your life watching Friends on Netflix. I mean, that’s just not right. And, believe me, at the end that’s the worst thing you can do for yourself. I might write about the story of that crappy summer a few years ago…

Remember Newton?

When viewed in an inertial reference frame, an object either remains at rest or continues to move at a constant velocity, unless acted upon by an external force.

That being said, the more you stay in bed, in the sofa or being lazy anywhere else, the more you want to stay in bed, in the sofa or being lazy anywhere else. Sounds familiar? And what’s the solution?

MOVE! Start doing things, even if you don’t really feel like it.

Lauryn, from The Skinny Confidential, recently said that one of the ways to start being motivated to do something is to just “fake it until you make it”. That doesn’t mean that you have to be all smiles and look like you just came from Lollipop Land. Step by step. You want to go to the gym but you lack motivation? I totally understand you. Try putting on some gym clothes when you get up in the morning, so you are a little closer. I usually like to have bright clothes for the gym. They just make me happier! I actually have some phrases written in the mirror of the bathroom so that I remember to smile more and see the better things on the day. Now, don’t expect to be super happy the second day, it might or it might not happen. Just give yourself some time. Doesn’t it make sense?

I can, and I will

You can also reward yourself. Like, if you need to clean the house but you don’t really want to (sorry, nothing else comes to my mind), you can say to yourself that you will sit and watch an episode of your favorite TV show or you’ll get some special treat when you’re done with a part of the task.

This morning, that’s pretty much what I did. I put my gym clothes on, had breakfast and set on some music to make it easier to go through my to-do list. Not that I’ve finished, but I have actually accomplished a lot!

Have you felt unmotivated lately? What are your tricks to overcome that feeling?

When I receive a comment I do a somersault! :)

