The power of reading

When I was a kid my parents taught me to enjoy reading and I barely watched TV. We had so many books at home that they barely fit in the shelves and the storage box we had under the sofas. And we still went to the library every couple of weeks to get new material.

I remember staying there 2-3h sometimes going through books, reading and deciding which ones I was going to take home. And I used to bring 3-4 books EVERY TIME. That was when I was between 8 and 13 years old.

One of the requirements to pass my Spanish class when I was 10-12 years old was to read at least one book every 3 months. One book in three months, guys!

The teachers asked us to bring some books to class so everyone had access to them. At one point I was really into Agatha Christie and her mystery novels, so I took one that one of my classmates had brought. When I got home I started reading it and I didn’t stop until I was done with it. I was so into the story I couldn’t stop reading! The next morning I went to the teacher and asked her for another book. She looked at me and she told me “Wow, you don’t read books, you devour them!” I don’t know if it was the tone or the look on her face that made feel almost guilty of reading so fast.

Sorry I’m not sorry.

Book shelves

I discovered most of the Disney stories from the books, instead of watching the movies as the other kids. For the first 4 years of my life, actually, we didn’t even have a TV. And I think that’s one of the best things that could ever happen to me. Even when my parents had the money and bought a TV, I didn’t usually watch it that much. My parents encouraged me to read before going to bed, when I was bored, when I had nothing else to do or any other time.

When I see kids now, they have their heads into their phones, tablets, laptops, TV or other devices. That is pretty sad. And I’m not even going to talk about all the problems that come from looking at a screen all day.

After High School I stopped reading that much and I’ve been a few years barely reading, but now I’m going back to it. I have put myself a reading goal of 3 books per month (right now I’m doing 1.5) and that’s something that I really want to accomplish. Reading has so many benefits, like providing mental stimulation, stress reduction and vocabulary expansion. And it has always had the power of taking me to other places, like my problems are on break for a while. It’s also a very good option for these rainy days. Just curl up with a blanket, a warm drink and a good book.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I have to go finish The Girl With No Shadow by Joanne Harris…

Do you like to read? Which book are you guys reading at the moment?

When I receive a comment I do a somersault! :)

