Easy (and free) ways to help the planet + cruelty free makeup brands

Happy Monday everyone!

I was planning on doing a loooooooong post about how bad we have treated (and are treating) this planet, but I just decided that, instead of focusing on the bad stuff, I’m going to talk about a few small steps that we can do to better things. I am a firm believer that if everyone and each of us did a couple of things every day, we can enjoy a better life together!

Below I talk about a couple of those actions that we can take in our every life. They are not hard to follow everyday and they will have a good impact in this planet that we call home.

Easy (and Free) Ways to Help the Planet + Cruelty Free Makeup Brands

With all the trash and residues that a person produces every day, I think is very important for us to follow the three R’s:

  • RECYCLE. I find it difficult to do in the US. In Spain we had pretty clear how to separate and there were colored dumpsters in the street to divide the trash. My complex, for example, doesn’t have any recycling bins anymore; they took them away a few months away. How can it be so difficult to recycle?
  • REUSE. I’ve been looking to some DIY projects that I’ll explain in future posts) the trash that I produce
  • REDUCE. I always go grocery shopping with my huge Ikea bag and other reusable bags. Some cashiers in Walmart seem kind of bothered by that, which is weird for me. In Europe it’s very common for grocery shops to charge for bags

Also, I found this website with 50 easy ways that we can help the planet. Remember that simple things can make a difference! Number 19 is a great idea to do as a family. And don’t tell me you don’t like number 17! 😉

 

Another thing that we can do to help is using make up and beauty brands that don’t test in animals. That’s something that I’ve been researching pretty recently, but I am making part of my life. I have seen terrible pictures of those testing – I’m obviously not going to post them here, but you can write on Google “make up animal testing” if you want to check that out.

With a quick Google Search we can find a list of those brands so we can look at it next time we go shopping. I have learnt very interesting things through this search and I encourage you to take a look. I’m just going to leave a couple of links for you to check if you’d like 🙂

Let me know in the comments what you think about this post and how are you helping the planet!

2 thoughts on “Easy (and free) ways to help the planet + cruelty free makeup brands

    • They are banned since 2013, but there’s a loophole that means that some ingredients can still be tested. L’Oreal, Benefit, Estee Lauder, Bobbi Brown… So, technically, even in the UE we can still buy and use cosmetics that test on animals.

      Like

When I receive a comment I do a somersault! :)

