My favorite Christmas songs

Hi everyone! How are you doing?

I am Izaskun, Mai’s little sister. I am a Youtuber with three different channels: one in English and two in Spanish (main and vlog channel). I talk a little bit about everything and nothing and you’re more than welcome to come check it out! I’ll leave the links below so you can come say hi!

When Mai told me if I wanted to collaborate on her blog I was really excited about it. She appeared in a couple of my videos and I thought this was a great chance to participate on her project too!

I have always felt divided about Christmas time. I love the lights, decorating the house and seeing my family. But sometimes it is overwhelming having so many people at home (my family is really big), preparing the house and the food, expecting everything to be perfect… And let’s be honest, perfection doesn’t exist.

But music always helps and Christmas time feels better with Christmas songs, doesn’t it? So I come today to share with you my favorite music for the holidays!

Christmas Songs

10 – Sleigh Ride.

It’s a staple in every Christmas movie and it’s not Christmas until you hear it! Every time I listen to it my brain turns into a festive way. It makes a perfect combo!

9 – All I want for Christmas is you.

This song is a must in this list, but I’m one of those people who are tired of listening to it every year and every day, sung by everybody. The most known version is, of course, by the great Mariah Carey, and it’s not Christmas until you have listen to it at least once.

8 – Winter Wonderland.

Who doesn’t know this song? And admit it, who hasn’t sung it at least once? You can find this track in a bunch of Original Soundtracks. A great song to have as a background sound while having a family dinner.

7 – Have yourself a merry little Christmas.

Do you want to get a little emotional? This is your song. It reminds me of the moment on a Christmas movie when the family is talking, laughing and eating around the table. The camera slowly goes away and we can see that outside is snowing. And maybe the leading character is walking on the streets, alone. Of course, at the end of the song there will have a happy ending and the leading character won’t be outside alone. (Too much imagination… :D)

6 – Rockin’ around the Christmas tree.

I love to sing and dance this song, it has a great rhythm to get ready for Christmas time, decorate the place, eat Christmas sweets (I love Christmas sweets) and have fun!

5 – Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow!

Of all the versions this song has, the one I like the most is Frank Sinatra’s. It makes me feel I’m living on a Christmas movie (at the end, when everybody is happily together). Michael Bublé’s style is very similar to Sinatra’s and he nails the song too.

4 – Feliz Navidad.

This one had to be on this top 10. It’s perfect to learn how to say Merry Christmas in Spanish! I really like this song and there are a lot of different versions to choose from, all of them perfect to have fun and get a little bit crazy with family, friends or whoever you want to get Christmas crazy with!

3 – Last Christmas.

I think every girl and woman who sings has sung this song (see what I did here?). While I was looking for one version I found out it has been sung by Taylor Swift, Ariana Grande, Ashley Tisdale, Carly Rae Jepsen and many more. It was originally published by Wham!, a British duet, in 1984. I have always loved this song.

2 – Santa Claus is coming to town.

This is another great song to get into the festive mood and sing out loud with family and friends while dancing around the house during the holidays. Does it seem like you went crazy? No, it’s called happiness! 😀

1 – Jingle Bell Rock.

This is the winner for me: the best song to sing and dance on Christmas. Funny, but still Christmassy. I love the original version (the one that everyone knows), but I have to admit that the version Glee did was awesome too.

Right below I’ll link a YouTube playlist I created just for you with my favorite versions of each of these songs. Let’s get festive! I would love to know your Christmas favorite songs too so don’t forget to share them in the comments below.

https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLcirGtpfrydnEOdIPF4jlOdd85-1HoDxN

Thank you for reading me, talk to you soon! Enjoy!

PS. Don’t forget to check out Izaskun Zubillaga, More Izaskun + Who is Izaskun?

 

When I receive a comment I do a somersault! :)

