Spanish Omelet aka Tortilla de Patatas

Is it already February? I know I keep saying that time seems to fly, but it actually does. Maybe that’s because I’ve been abnormally busy the last few months, but it seems like we just started 2016!

Spanish Omelet Recipe

Last week (in The Week in Pictures‘ post) I told you that I would post the Spanish Omelet (aka Tortilla de Patatas) recipe. It is pretty simple (you most likely already have all the ingredients needed in the pantry) and one of my all time favorites. I hope you like it too!

Here’s the list of ingredients that you will need.

Ingredients to cook a spanish omelet

Start by peeling the potatoes and cutting them into small slices or cubes.

Fry the potatoes in a pan with olive oil until they are done. We don’t want them crispy, though, so keep an eye on them. I usually cook them on a medium temperature.

In the meantime, peel the onions and chop them in little pieces. Grill them until they are soft and a little transparent.

When done, place the potatoes in a container to mix them with the onions, the eggs and a little bit of salt. If you want, you can drain part of the extra oil by putting the potatoes in a plate with some napkins.

Process followed to cook the spanish omelet

Pour the mix in a pan with a little bit of olive oil and let cook for a few minutes. Carefully turn around the omelet with the help of a plate and let the other side cook for just a couple of minutes before placing it on a plate.

I do prefer the egg not to be completely done so I don’t let it cook for long.

I hope you guys try it and let me know how you liked it!

4 thoughts on “Spanish Omelet aka Tortilla de Patatas

When I receive a comment I do a somersault! :)

