Full House vs. Fuller House

I was so excited for February 26th! The first season of Fuller House was finally released on Netflix and I could see again the troop! I loved every and each of the characters: Michelle was so cute, and who didn’t dream about having an Uncle Jesse? I know I did!

After binge watching the 13 episodes I looked on the internet information about the next season, and I found out so many negative comments about this revival. People don’t realize that they are applying double standards to criticize the new TV show, just because the characters are women.

I remember they used to air the show at 2pm on weekdays when I was little, so I could watch it with my mom while I was finishing getting ready to go back to school after lunch break. One specific day my mom was braiding my hair with a blue clip while we were watching it.

And a few years ago, I watched it all over again. I just love it. I plan on watching it with my kids too in the future!

So when the revival came out at the end of February, I knew I had to watch it.

After binge watching the 13 episodes I looked on the internet information about the next season, and I found out so many negative comments about this revival. People don’t realize that they are applying double standards to criticize the new TV show, just because the characters are women.

After binge watching the 13 episodes I looked on the internet information about the next season, and I found out so many negative comments about this revival. People don’t realize that they are applying double standards to criticize the new TV show, just because the characters are women.

Full House was about 2 young and single guys that moved in to live with Danny Tanner, to help him take care of his 3 daughters after his wife passed away. You could see that Uncle Jesse liked women and he dated many (and do you remember the small outfits?). Nobody seemed to have a problem with that.

After binge watching the 13 episodes I looked on the internet information about the next season, and I found out so many negative comments about this revival. People don’t realize that they are applying double standards to criticize the new TV show, just because the characters are women.

In Fuller House, Stephanie and Kimmy Gibbler would move in with DJ, to help her take care of her 3 sons after her husband passed away. Stephanie is young and single, and Kimmy is recently divorced. Many people (mainly women, as per what I saw) criticized Stephanie for wearing too revealing clothes, but I don’t think her outfits were much revealing than in Full House. Why attack her?

Also, nobody said anything about the guys making jokes about sex or getting drunk. However, Fuller House is being disapproved by many women because of that too. Are we serious?

Four days ago it was the International Women’s Day. It wasn’t a day to congratulate woman for the fact of being women. It was a day to remember how far women have come to get gender equality (although there’s still a long way to go).

Equality is not only getting paid the same at work, not being fired just because you’re pregnant or you’re planning to be or fighting for house chores to be shared. It is also respect. Just because a woman is wearing some clothes doesn’t give men (or other women) the right to insult and call names. Just because a woman is dating doesn’t mean that she’s a prostitute.

I love Full House because it is the story of three guys raising three kids and taking over all those “women tasks”. And, in the mean time, they still found time to have fun.

And I love that they have changed the roles and now it’s three women who take care of their kids.

But, for some reason, people that liked the jokes made by men don’t like them when it’s a woman who makes them. And that’s a huge double standard. It is sad that it’s 2016 and we’re still trash-talking about women like that!

After binge watching the 13 episodes I looked on the internet information about the next season, and I found out so many negative comments about this revival. People don’t realize that they are applying double standards to criticize the new TV show, just because the characters are women.

Is it jealousy? Is it just human nature to try and make other people feel less? Why do people feel that they need to do that? Women should empower other women, not diminishing each other.

I hope one day we all realize about that and start acting consequently.

5 thoughts on “Full House vs. Fuller House

  1. You’re so right! The only thing about Fuller House that I think they should improve is to change some of the jokes. We all loved Full House’s jokes but it was the 90s, they could create new jokes and situations. But I like Fuller House too, it’s great to watch the new generation =)

    Like

When I receive a comment I do a somersault! :)

